The University of Texas at Tyler
Tyler   •   Longview   •   Palestine
A centerpiece for learning,
culture and natural beauty

The 2009 Edgar Awards Announced

The 2009 Edgar Awards (link to the awards website) recognizing the best in mystery and crime writing have been announced. The Edgars are awarded by the Mystery Writers of America to books, short stories, television shows, and films. These awards are acknowledged to be the most prestigious award in this genre. If you are in the mood for some mystery, crime, intrigue, and/or suspense, you may want to find some of the books on the awards list. The awards website also allows readers to search the lists of previous award winners by category and year. You can even enter an author's last name, a publisher, or a work's title for search options. The MWA official website is a treasure trove of information for mystery readers, and you do not need to be a member in order to see a lot of the resources. Some resources available in the MWA site include:
  • A list of MWA anthologies. Personally, I find genre anthologies to be a nice way to get a sampling of what a genre offers. For readers getting started in mystery, one of these anthologies might be a good place to start.
  • Some resources for those interested in mystery book clubs.
  • Information on various authors.
  • A list of links to author newsletters. In other words, you can check and see if your favorite author puts out a newsletter and get it here if available.
For books that the Robert R. Muntz Library does not have in the collections, patrons affiliated with the university (currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff) can use our ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service. Other visitors can likely find interlibrary loan service as well through their local library.
Published by root on 02 Jun

Important Dates